BMG's deluxe reissue of The Point! was released on November 19, 2002. The album was re-mastered for the CD which is in a slipcase with two booklets. One booklet is the comic book. The other contains new liner notes and art, including the original "Point!" cover designed by Dean Torrence before it was decided to do the needlepoint version.


There are four previously unreleased bonus tracks on the CD.


The Point! is the soundtrack of Harry Nilsson's animated TV special. The Point! aired on ABC TV in early 1971. The TV program was narrated by Dustin Hoffman. The album is narrated by Harry. The album reached #25 during a 32-week stay on the charts.


The needlepoint on the cover is by Kathy Torrence. The album design is by Dean Torrence (of Jan and Dean).


I was on acid and I looked at the trees and I realized that they all came to points, and the little branches came to points, and the houses came to point. I thought, 'Oh! Everything has a point, and if it doesn't, then there's a point to it.'

-- Harry Nilsson[1]